Fascinating Facts About Abuja, Nigeria


Abuja, Nigeria’s capital city, is one of the fastest-growing cities in Africa, serving as a center of government and being a lively place filled with fun attractions to visit. The Interesting Info about naijauncut.

The modern city is situated amidst hills and grasslands with scenic views. An extensive road network makes traveling quickly between locations.

1. It is the largest city in Africa

Abuja, originally the southwestern part of Zazzau’s ancient Habe (Hausa) kingdom, became Nigeria’s capital on December 12, 1991, after centuries of being home to various semi-independent tribes.

The land was historically home to Gbagyi (Gwari) and Koro tribes before Fulani invaders came in the early 1800s. Muhammed Makau fled south with some followers along with Abu Ja and Kwaka as part of his escape plan in 1825.

In the 1970s, plans were drawn to establish a centrally located capital city to avoid ethnic and religious divisions; the government chose Abuja.

2. It is the capital of Nigeria

Abuja, located within Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory (FCT) in central Nigeria, serves as its administrative and political capital. Abuja was officially made Nigeria’s official capital on December 12, 1991, after surpassing Lagos as its most populous city.

The city was built mainly during the 1980s. A hub for business, government, and culture on the African continent.

Kenzo Tange of Japan designed the master plan of Tokyo to accommodate key national institutions – specifically the Federal Government’s Executive, Legislative, and Judiciary branches, which comprise what has come to be known as the “Three Arms Zone.”

Aso Rock is an iconic 400-meter monolith that towers over Lagos. Near it is the Presidential Complex, National Assembly, Supreme Court buildings, and numerous landmarks such as its golden dome of the National Mosque, Nigerian National Christian Centre, and NNPC towers.

3. It is the center of government

Abuja serves as the political heart of Nigeria. As its capital city, it features the Presidential Complex, National Assembly, Supreme Court, and various government offices.

Furthermore, it serves as the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) headquarters and its military arm, ECOMOG. Moreover, it houses regional OPEC offices.

This city was intended to serve as a modern capital with enough room to accommodate various ethnic groups since Lagos, its predecessor, had become overcrowded and lacked proper infrastructure.

The new city was intended as a neutral location to foster national unity, and in 1979 Nigeria’s government approved an initiative that would see their capital moved closer to the center of their nation.

4. It is a cosmopolitan city

Abuja in Nigeria is a bustling metropolis with an exciting master plan, welcoming residents from varying cultures.

An eclectic master plan, stunning architecture, extensive roads, large parks, and green areas have enhanced the city’s vibrant atmosphere.

However, despite its impressive architectural features, the city does face some significant problems; crime being one of the primary issues.

The city was designed as a unifying center for Nigerians of all ethnic and religious affiliations. Furthermore, it serves as an administrative center and headquarters of several organizations.

5. It is a modern city

Abuja, Nigeria’s capital city, was designed with diversity in mind. Situated within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), this centrally-located city makes getting around by car or taxi easy.

Location was chosen because it represented neutrality for all ethnic and religious groups that comprised the country then. Construction started in the 70s, but the early stages were delayed by economic and political instability.

The master plan for the new capital was devised by an alliance of three American firms – PRC Corporation, Wallace McHarg Roberts Todd, and Archisystems. Kenzo Tange (a famous Japanese architect) added flair by creating an architectural design combining modernist and African styles.

Read also: Which People Can Use Arabic Taweez